top of page

Staff Editorial: AE Days

By Sydney Eddleman, Growl Staff Writer

AE days are on Monday, Tuesday, and Friday. Our assignments are based on which teachers rooms we are in that quarter. Depending on which teachers room you are in, whatever subject they teach is the lesson they will follow with you. I, along with many of my fellow students, would like to have AE, but utilize it as a study hall and be able to read and/or work on homework. Since we have AE three days a week, we could read two of those days, and read and/or study the other day. Based on our academic lives, we could choose when we needed to study or work on homework. The other days could be considered “free days” but we would have to read and keep quiet for the other students. Many students have extra curricular activities after school, and need that extra time to devote to studying, homework, or book reports.

We asked 2 students from each grade what their opinion on AE was. Here are some of their answers:

Two 7th grade girls said, “In AE, I wish we could read a book of our choice, and also study for upcoming tests.”

Two 8th grade students said, “AE is okay, but I really wish we could use it as a traditional study hall some days.”

One 9th grade girl said, “Many teachers complain about students not having their assignments finished. AE would be an awesome time to catch up on our work or study for upcoming tests!”

One 9th grade boy said, “I like the idea of being able to catch up on classwork and read a book of our choice.”

One 10th grade boy said, “If we could use AE to catch up on class work or read a book, it would be a better use of our time.”

One 10th grade girl said, “I’m overwhelmed with all the school work we have this year, and AE has previously helped me to catch up on my assignments. Now, I just have more work with the new form of AE.”

One 11th grade girl said, “I’m involved in many extracurricular activities and am enrolled in all honors classes. Sometimes I’m too busy at home to finish one class’s work because I don’t have a chance to work on it at school. AE would be the perfect time to do it, but unfortunately, we are not allowed to work on homework during AE and are punished if caught.”

One 11th grade boy said, “I hate AE. I don’t learn anything and I’d rather just read a book or work on my homework.”

Thoughts? Opinions? Send a letter to the editor to growl@southpemiscot.com to have your voice heard!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Twitter App Icon

The Growl

bottom of page